TIMU Logo
Back to all support topics
Working with team members

TIMU networks are organized into Teams, and further broken down into Workspaces.

Teams

A TIMU Team is a collection of people who work together on something. A Team can represent a department, a large project, a club, a committee, or even your entire organization. It’s up to you and your organization how you want to set up your Teams. To create a new Team, click the “Join or Create Teams” button at the bottom of the Teams list.

See: Team Creation

Teams can be private or public. A private Team is visible only to its members, and in order for someone to join a private Team they need to be invited, or sent a special link. Public Teams are open to anyone in your organization, and they can be found by clicking “Join or Create Teams” from the Teams list.

When your network is first created, a default Team (called “My Team”) is created. This special Team automatically includes all members of your network. You can use it for organization-wide discussion or announcements, or as a place to greet people new to your TIMU network.

To manage a Team’s membership, permissions, or to create a new Workspace within the Team, click the triple-dot icon next to the Team’s name in the Teams list, and select the desired option from the context menu that appears. Note that many of these options are available only to Team owners.

See: Team Membership, Workspace Creation

Workspaces

A TIMU Workspace is where your Teams collaborate, share files, plan, and get work done. Each Team can have multiple Workspaces. Workspaces can be private or Team-wide. A private Workspace is a lot like a private Team - only people who belong to that Workspace can see it, and you need to be invited to join. Team-wide Workspaces include all members of the Team, so you never have to manage membership for a Team-wide Workspace.

When a Team is created, a default Team-wide Workspace called “General” will also be created.

To manage a Workspace’s permissions, rename, or delete a Workspace, hover over the Workspace’s name in the Teams list and click the triple-dot icon that appears. Note that some of these options are available only to users with ownership permissions over the Workspace.

See: Workspace Permissions

Each TIMU Workspace has four modules: Posts, Files, Plans, and Events. To switch between modules, click the module tabs at the top of the Workspace.

Posts

The Posts module is a place for members of your Workspace to chat, post updates, get feedback, and stay up-to-date on what’s happening within the Workspace. Similar to a chat channel, you can type comments and replies, attach files, react to individual messages with emoji, and tag other Workspace members using the @mention feature. If you want to make sure that someone sees your post, @mention them. The user you mention will receive a notification about your post that they can follow directly into the chat.

See: Chat

In addition to comments posted directly to the Posts module, this feed also displays comments made in other modules within the Workspace, including comments associated with files, events, and cards. These comments appear with a different background color, and indicate the file, event, or card they belong to. You can click on the name of the parent record to go directly to its details.

Files

Each Workspace has its own file library accessible only to members of that Workspace. All files attached anywhere in the Workspace appear here - including post attachments, attachments to event comments, and attachments to task comments.

See: Files in workspace, File Preview

Plans

See: Plans

Events

Events that pertain to the work being done in a Workspace can be created from within the Workspace itself. To create a new Workspace event, click the Events tab at the top of the Workspace, then click the “New Event” button.

See: Event Creation

The Events tab lists all events within the Workspace which are either currently ongoing, or are scheduled for the future. By default, canceled and past events are hidden from view. To see past of canceled events, click the checkbox labeled “Display past or canceled events only”.

If you are an owner of the Workspace, you will be able to edit or cancel events from this page. All users can view the details of an event, or click the “Join” button to go directly to the lobby for the event’s video call.

See: Video Calls

Note that each event only appears once in the list of events, even if it is a recurring event. To view or modify a specific occurrence of an event series, open the event’s details and select the occurrence you want using the calendar in the upper right.

See: Event Details